Canadian payroll legislation: 2022 statutory holiday schedule

Resources
Payworks

Payworks

There are many reasons why Canadian businesses and payroll practitioners mark their calendars with the upcoming statutory holiday schedule - like adhering to legislated time off for staff, applying holiday pay rates, and knowing if payroll processing dates are altered. These tasks are important in ensuring workforces are paid accurately and on time throughout the year.

We recommend the best practice of processing payroll three business days in advance of the employee's payment date. When taking weekends and banking holidays into consideration, that could mean processing payroll anywhere from three to even six days in advance of the employee's payment date.

With that in mind, we've put together a list that displays the statutory holidays in 2022, accompanied by the date of the coinciding banking holiday as well:

Holiday

Date 

Banking Holiday

New Year’s Day Saturday, January 1, 2022 Monday, January 3, 2022 (observed)
Day After New Year’s (QC) Sunday, January 2, 2022 Monday, January 3, 2022 (observed)
Third Monday in February1 Monday, February 21, 2022 Monday, February 21, 2022
St. Patrick’s Day (NL) Thursday, March 17, 2022 Monday, March 14, 2022 (observed)
Good Friday Friday, April 15, 2022 Friday, April 15, 2022
Easter Monday (QC) Monday, April 18, 2022 Monday, April 18, 2022
St. George’s Day (NL) Monday, April 25, 2022 Monday, April 25, 2022
Victoria Day (Patriots’ Day in QC)2 Monday, May 23, 2022 Monday, May 23, 2022
National Holiday/Fête Nationale (QC) Friday, June 24, 2022 Friday, June 24, 2022
Discovery Day (NL) Monday, June 27, 2022 Monday, June 27, 2022
Canada Day (Memorial Day in NL) Friday, July 1, 2022 Friday, July 1, 2022
Nunavut Day (NU) Saturday, July 9, 2022 Monday, July 11, 2022 (observed)
First Monday in August3 Monday, August 1, 2022 Monday, August 1, 2022
Discovery Day (YT) Monday, August 15, 2022 Monday, August 15, 2022
Labour Day Monday, September 5, 2022 Monday, September 5, 2022
National Day for Truth & Reconciliation4 Friday, September 30, 2022 Friday, September 30, 2022
Thanksgiving Day2 Monday, October 10, 2022 Monday, October 10, 2022
Remembrance Day5 Friday, November 11, 2022 Friday, November 11, 2022
Christmas Day Sunday December 25, 2022 Tuesday, December 27, 2022 (observed)
Boxing Day6 Monday, December 26, 2022 Monday, December 26, 2022

1. Holiday in BC, AB, SK, MB, ON, PE, NS, and NB.
2. Not a public holiday in PE, NS, NB, and NL.
3. Holiday in BC, SK, NT, NU and NB. This is an optional day at the employer’s discretion in AB, MB, ON, PE, and NS.
4. Statutory holiday for federally-regulated workplaces and PE.
5. Not a statutory holiday in MB, NS, ON, QC. MB and NS are governed by their respective Remembrance Day Acts.
6. Statutory holiday in Ontario and for workplaces regulated by the Canada Labour Code. Banking holiday in all jurisdictions.

For more information on Canadian payroll legislation for 2022, download our free 2022 Payroll Guide: https://info.payworks.ca/en-ca/payroll-guide-for-canadian-business

Interested in a Demo or more info?

We would be more than happy to show you how to get the most from our suite of workforce management solutions. Simply contact your sales representative at sales@payworks.ca  to start the conversation.